ERA Award 2023

The European Radon Association on its continuous effort to promote radon-related activities, has decided to create the following categories for the ERA award 2023:

Recent outstanding research or work in the radon field  

The award aims to award a national or international outstanding/innovative project in the radon field. Examples of the projects that can receive the award are (the list is non-exclusive)

  • A diploma work
  • Ph.D.
  • Outstanding publication
  • Organisation of a radon event such as conference
  • High impact research project

Lifetime achievement award

The award intends to recognise a radon expert. The laureate can be, for example (the list is non-exclusive):

  • Someone working in the field already for long time and made important contributions
  • Someone who organised important conferences for long time
  • Someone who does/did important work in radon education or supporting students/young experts etc. 
  • A person that is retired or will retire in 2023 or in 2024

Benefits of the award

  • 1000 EUR in each category
  • Time slot to present the work that has contributed to the award
  • One free of charge publication in the journal JERA

The nomination process

  • Only ERA members can nominate a candidate to the award in any of the two categories
  • All received candidates will be evaluated by the award committee
  • The nomination of a candidate/candidates will be done by using the following template: link to the doc
  • Nominations must be sent to
  • Deadline to receive nominations: 7th of June 2023 17:00 Brussels time

The award committee

The committee is composed by the following persons:

  • Prof. Dr. James McLaughin (Emeritus Professor UCD, Ireland and former ERA President)
  • Dr. Wolfgang Ringer (Head of department for radon and radioecology at AGES, Austria and former ERA President)
  • Mr. Per Nilsson (CEO Driftwood Consulting AB, Sweden and current ERA President)
  • Dr. Carmela Carpentieri (ISS, Italy and current ERA Vice-President)
  • Dr. Boris Dehandschutter (FANC, Belgium and current ERA Treasurer)
  • Dr. Valeria Gruber (Head of the radon group at AGES, Austria and current member of the ERA EC)
  • Mr. Paulo Norte Pinto (Radosys Atlantic, Portugal and current member of the ERA EC)
  • Dr. José – Luis Gutierrez  Villanueva (Radonova Laboratories AB, Sweden and current ERA Secretary)


The committee will communicate its decision to the laureates latest on 22nd June 2023. The decision will be informed to the ERA members during the ERA annual meeting and by email the same day.

ERA welcomes membership applications from those who have an active interest in the field of radon